Find Articles - Science Capstone - Research Quick Guide - Research Guides at Germanna Community College

Find Original Research Articles (Primary Sources)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Although this database is multidisciplinary—meaning it covers many different subject areas—it contains relevant articles in the sciences.
Journal articles, magazines, and newspapers that cover most topics. This is your go-to database.
Nature This link opens in a new window Provides access to the journal Nature. Covers genetics and geology, as well as other subject areas in the life sciences and physical sciences.
Journal articles that cover biology, chemistry, earth science, environmental science, and more.
Science This link opens in a new window Online access to the journal Science. Includes ScienceNow, a daily news service.
Journal articles from the scientific journal Science that cover zoology, biology, climate science, and more.

Original Research Articles

Example:

Original research articles focus on a single research study that was conducted by the authors.
Original research articles always contain a section labeled Methods (or Materials and Methods).
Original research articles usually contain a section labeled Results. (The results are always included in the article.)
Original research articles usually contain a section labeled Discussion.
Above the article title, original research articles are frequently labeled as "Original Research" or "Research Article."

Review Articles (e.g. Literature Reviews, Systematic Reviews)

Example:

Review articles summarize and evaluate the results of many different studies on a topic.
Above the article title, review articles are frequently labeled as "Review" or "Systematic Review."
If a review article contains a Methods section, it will address the database search terms used to find articles on the topic, as well as the databases searched.