The Barbara J. Fried Center Library at the new Stafford County location will be open for equipment returns only from Dec 2nd-5th, Dec 9th-12th, and Dec 16th-19th.
Explore your Topic, and Focus your Research Questions
Early in the research process, you may have a broad topic, or a broad research question, in mind.
This is to be expected in the earliest stages of research.
Your early research questions may be fuzzy and unfocused.
After you begin to learn about the topic, you can clarify your research questions
"Starting Point" Databases (For Topical Exploration and Background Information)
Opposing ViewpointsThis link opens in a new windowJournal articles, background information, news, and more about controversial topics and current events.
This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, background information, news, and more about controversial topics and current events.
Issues & ControversiesThis link opens in a new windowJournal articles and more on controversial topics in politics, business, education, and popular culture. Includes key facts, main arguments, history and cultural context.
This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and more on controversial topics in politics, business, education, and popular culture. Includes key facts, main arguments, history and cultural context.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowOverviews of controversial topics and current events.
Overviews of controversial topics and current events.
Britannica AcademicThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia entries that cover most topics. Includes biographies and a world atlas.
Encyclopedia entries that cover most topics. Includes biographies and a world atlas.
Gale EbooksThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia entries that cover most topics. Includes a topic finder to explore related concepts.
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries that cover most topics. Includes a topic finder to explore related concepts.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia entries that cover most topics. Includes topic pages with highlighted entries and related concepts.
Encyclopedia entries that cover most topics. Includes topic pages with highlighted entries and related concepts.
National Newspapers (for Topical Exploration & Background Information)
Clarifying your research questions means that you will find specific aspects of the topic to focus on.
To help clarify your research questions, consider asking questions like:
Which specific aspect of this topic do I want to write about?
(Who? What? When? Where? Why? How?)
What is the public debate associated with this topic? What stances are people taking? What is my stance? Do people who disagree with me have any valid points?
This link opens in a new window