Find Background Information - Anatomy & Physiology - Library Research Guide - Research Guides at Germanna Community College

Encyclopedias and Background Information

Salem Health This link opens in a new window Standard reference sources in the allied health sciences, such as Magill's Medical Guide.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Provides background information about medical conditions and diseases, as well as full drug profiles.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window Contains encyclopedias and other reference sources. Get ideas for keywords.
- This link opens in a new window

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Jacqueline Longe
ISBN: 9781410363206
Publication Date: 2018
Covers body systems and functions, conditions and diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Includes all major health professions.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by Katherine H. Nemeh; Jacqueline Longe
ISBN: 9780028677583
Publication Date: 2021
Includes extensive coverage of the health sciences.

Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary by Jonathan Law; Elizabeth Martin
ISBN: 9780191873768
Publication Date: 2020
This illustrated text covers all aspects of medical science and terminology. Fully revised and updated with over 250 new entries. An essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied health professions.
Black's Medical Dictionary by Harvey Marcovitch
ISBN: 9781472943071
Publication Date: 2018
A reference containing precise explanations of medical terms for nurses, students, and health care professionals. This updated edition contains over 200 new entries to reflect the rapidly advancing field of medical practice.

Oxford Dictionary of Nursing by Jonathan Law
ISBN: 9780194896705
Publication Date: 2021
This illustrative text provides extensive coverage of vocabulary for the nursing profession. In addition to nursing specific terms, there are entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, nutrition, and pharmacology. Includes tables to aid in the calculation of drug dosages, and much more that make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.