The Historical New York Times (1851-2020)
This link opens in a new windowIncludes the newspaper the New York Times up through 2020. World, national, and local New York City news.
Includes the newspaper the New York Times up through 2020. World, national, and local New York City news.
The Historical Washington Post (1877-2007)
This link opens in a new windowIncludes the newspaper the Washington Post up through 2007. Good coverage of U.S. political and local D.C. area news.
Includes the newspaper the Washington Post up through 2007. Good coverage of U.S. political and local D.C. area news.
HarpWeek
This link opens in a new windowHarper's Weekly (1857-1877). A major American 19th century newspaper.
Harper's Weekly (1857-1877). A major American 19th century newspaper.
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
This link opens in a new windowIncludes the newspaper the Chicago Defender up through 1975. Focuses on issues faced by African Americans.
Includes the newspaper the Chicago Defender up through 1975. Focuses on issues faced by African Americans.
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999)
This link opens in a new windowIncludes the newspaper the Chicago Tribune up through 1999. World, national, and local Chicago area news.
Includes the newspaper the Chicago Tribune up through 1999. World, national, and local Chicago area news.
The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003)
This link opens in a new windowIncludes the newspaper the Guardian and the Observer up through 2003. World news from a British perspective as well as in depth coverage of British news.
Includes the newspaper the Guardian and the Observer up through 2003. World news from a British perspective as well as in depth coverage of British news.
Grove Art Online
This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia entries about art objects, artistic movements, and artists. Also contains images of artwork.
Encyclopedia entries about art objects, artistic movements, and artists.
Scholarly Articles in the Sciences: Original Research Studies
Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new windowFind scholarly articles in the sciences here, including original research studies. Keep in mind that this database contains both original research articles and review articles. Original research articles are primary sources, but review articles are secondary sources.
Also, this database does contain some scholarly journals in the humanities, and scholarly articles in the humanities are not considered to be primary sources.
Journal articles, magazines, and newspapers that cover most topics. This is your go-to database.
