Skip to main content

Distance/Online Learners Library Introduction: Getting Started

Library Resources For Distance/Online Learners

  • As a distance education/online  student, you have access to the same high quality library resources that other Germanna students do! 
     
  • Always start at the library homepage when accessing library resources.
     
  • We have companion research guides for specific courses, such as ENG 111, so be sure to check out our Research Starters.

The Library Website: Your Gateway to Library Databases

Where are the library's books, magazines, newspapers, journals, etc.?

  • Although the Germanna Libraries contain thousands of physical items, the vast majority of the library's collection is available in library research databases.
     
  • Items that used to be on the library's physical shelves are now available in library databases. Once you learn how to search a library database, you'll be able to quickly find credible sources for your research assignments. To learn more about the concept of a library database, click here
     
  • The library website is the main gateway into the library's research databases. You can access the library website at http://www.germanna.edu/library.

Library Databases: Access to Articles, Books, and More

24/7 ImageYou can access library databases on-campus or off-campus

To access library databases off campus:

  1. Click on a library database.  (e.g. Academic Search Complete)
  2. Then, enter your Blackboard username and password when prompted.