This is the "July - August" page of the "New Acquisitions 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
LRCLive Header

New Acquisitions 2014  

A list of new books and materials acquired in 2014.
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014 URL: http://germanna.libguides.com/NewAcquisitions2014 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

July - August Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A: General Works

 

B: Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

 

C - F: History

 

G - H: Social Sciences

 

J: Political Science

 

K: Law

 

L: Education

Cover Art
Minding the Dream - Gail O. Mellow; Cynthia Heelan
Call Number: LB2328.15 .U6M454 2008 (DTC - Circulating)
ISBN: 9780742562929
Publication Date: 2008-01-28
Todd Henry explains the forces that keep us in stagnation, and introduces a process for instilling consistent practices into your life that will keep you on a true and steady course. It's not about slaving over a project or living on a whim it's about embracing the idea that time is finite and making the unique contribution to the world that only you can make. Henry shows how to cultivate the mindset and the methods you need to sustain your enthusiasm, push through mental barriers, and unleash your best work each day. Sure to bring a new found clarity and a sense of urgency to how you approach your work every day, Die Empty will help you reach for and achieve your goals.

 

M: Music

 

N: Fine Arts

 

P: Language and Literature

 

Q: Science

Cover Art
Evolution: Constant Change and Common Threads [videorecording]. - Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Call Number: QH366.2 .E97 2006 (DTC - AV Collection)
Publication Date: c2006
Disc 1. Lecture 1. Endless forms most beautiful / Sean B. Carroll -- Lecture 2. Selection in action / David M. Kingsley -- Lecture 3. Fossils, genes, and embryos / David M. Kingsley -- Lecture 4. From butterflies to humans / Sean B. Carroll -- Disc 2. Discussion session and interviews.
These are the 2005 Holiday Lectures sponsored by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Cover Art
Exploring Biodiversity: The Search for New Medicines [videorecording]. - Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Call Number: QL99 .E97 2010 (DTC - AV Collection)
Publication Date: c2010
Two leading biologists discuss their paths of medical discovery based on a deeper understanding of biodiversity. Bonnie L. Bassler examines the molecular mechanisms that bacteria use to communicate with one another. Baldomero Olivera conducts research using the venomous predatory cone snail which has led to a better understanding of ion channels and identification of several therapeutic drug candidates.

Cover Art
Origin of Species [videorecording] - Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Call Number: QH365 .O75 2013 (DTC - AV Collection)
Publication Date: c2013
From back of container: Our planet has millions of species, including thousands of mammals, fish, birds and reptile, and even more butterflies, beetles, and other animals, each adapted to one of an enormous variety of habitats. The Richness and diversity of Life raises two of the most profound questions in biology: How do new species form? and why are there so many species? The Origin of the Species series tells the stories of the intrepid naturalists who traveled the world, from the famous Galapagos islands to the Malay Archipelago, in search of evidence and answers.

Cover Art
Virtual Lab Series [videorecording] - Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Call Number: QR46 .V57 2013 (DTC - AV Collection)
Publication Date: c2013
Contents: Bacterial ID lab -- Cardiology lab -- Immunology lab --Neurophysiology lab -- Stickleback Evolution lab -- Transgenic Fly lab.

 

R: Medicine

Cover Art
Science of Fat [videorecording]. [Obesity] - Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Call Number: RG628 .S3 2005 (DTC - AV Collection)
Publication Date: c2005
Dr. Ronald M. Evans and Dr. Jeffrey Friedman discuss the complex biological systems that control body weight and energy metabolism, and how a better genetic understanding of these processes could lead researchers to treatments that curb obesity and improve public health. Includes an additional 9 animations and 3 video clips.

Cover Art
Viral Outbreak: The Science of Emerging Disease [videorecording] - Howard Hughe Medical Institute
Call Number: RA643 .V57 2012 (DTC - AV Collection)
Publication Date: c2012
"Why is dengue fever becoming a worldwide health threat? What other epidemics are on the horizon? How can we detect and counter emerging infectious diseases? In four presentations, Dr. Joseph L. DeRisi and Dr. Eva Harris explain how they use both simple and sophisticated technologies to detect and fight infectious agents"--Publisher’s web site. Includes: four full-length presentations with detailed chapter stops ; direct access to animations and video to illustrate a topic ; special interactive features and dengue intervention and virochip microarrays ; discussion of the life cycle of mosquitoes.

 

S: Agriculture

 

T: Technology

 

U: Military Science

 

V: Navel Science

 

Z: Bibliographies, Library Science

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip