Skip to main content

Germanna Libraries Homepage

Off Campus Access: Getting Started

  • Always start your research at the library's homepage.
  • When you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log in with your myGCC username and password.  (This is the same as your Blackboard username and password.)
  • Check the Frequently Asked Questions below for additional assistance.

FAQ (Off Campus Access)

What username and password do I use for off-campus access to library resources?

Use your MyGCC username and password. This is the same username and password you use for Blackboard, your student e-mail, and SIS. Be sure that Caps Lock is off.

I found the resource online, but I can't get in. Why don't I see my college log-in screen?

Most of the databases provided by the Germanna Libraries are available through purchased subscriptions. Accordingly, only Germanna students, faculty and staff have off-campus access to them. 

If you use a search engine to find Germanna's library databases, you will not be recognized as an eligible user.  Be sure to access library databases through the library website.  This will ensure that you are prompted to log in with your myGCC username and password.

Why won't the system accept my log-in?

You must be a currently enrolled student at Germanna for your login to work. Your account should be available by the first day of classes for the semester in which you are enrolled.

If you are using MS Internet Explorer and see a "Page Not Found" message after you log in, click on the "Back" button, and try the link again. It should work the second time. If that does not work, please let us know by reporting this problem to the library.

I forgot my username and/or password. How can I reset it?

Look up your username and/or reset your password here.

I don't know my username and/or password. How can I find it?

Look up your username and/or reset your password here.

More FAQ (Off Campus Access)

I'm logged in, but I can't access articles or journals. I keep getting a database error message or seeing the database company's log-in screen. What should I do?

  1. Clear your web browser's cache/history (instructions here).
  2. Clear existing cookies and set your browser to accept cookies (instructions here).
  3. Make sure that Java Script is enabled (instructions here).
  4. Go back to the library homepage and try to access the resource again.

I'm using a business or work network and I can't access the databases. Why not?

Corporate or other highly-secure networks may not permit proxying (which is used for remote access to our electronic resources). Or the company may have a firewall in place. This could prevent you from accessing the library's databases from the workplace.

I received an error message in a database saying "Your institution is not a subscriber." What should I do?

  1. Go to the library homepage and use the electronic resources that are listed. A selection of the most frequently used library databases is listed in the Best Bets. These links are specific to our subscriptions and will prompt you to log-in if needed. Using an outdated link or an internet search engine to go directly to a database or electronic journal site without going through the library's link will not identify you as an eligible user.
  2. If you receive this message and you are going through the library website, please report this problem to the library.

I've tried everything and I'm still having trouble. What else could be wrong?

  • The problem might be with the vendor's site. These problems are generally resolved fairly quickly once the vendor is aware of them. Please report this problem if you suspect this might be the case.
  • Certain content or features might not be included in Germanna's library subscription to specific resources. Occasionally, a library subscription does not provide access to all features or content on a site. (For example, the library has most, but not all, of the articles in the FACTIVA database.) This may result in an error message or login screen.