Skip to main content

SDV Library Orientation: Get to Know Library Databases

This is the library orientation tutorial for SDV 100/101.

Library Databases: 24/7 Access to Articles, Books, and More

You can access library databases on-campus or off-campus. 

To access library databases off campus, just enter your myGCC username and password when prompted. (This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard.)

More Search Tips and Tricks

Once you learn how to search databases efficiently and effectively, you'll be able to save yourself a lot of time!

For more database tips, visit http://germanna.libguides.com/videotutorials.

Getting Started in a Library Database

Why Should I Use a Library Database?

FREE GATEWAY TO RELIABLE INFORMATION

  • The library pays a subscription fee, so that Germanna students have access to research databases for free.  However, much of the information found in library databases isn't freely available on the open web.

  • Library databases contain various types of sources, including articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. In addition, some library databases contain electronic books.

  • Items that used to be on the library's physical shelves are now available online in library databases.


DESIGNED FOR RESEARCHERS LIKE YOU

  • In the past, researchers had to look through big print indexes to find articles relevant to their research. But you've got it easy! Library research databases put thousands of articles at your fingertips, and they contain features that help you to quickly narrow down your search. For example, you can narrow down searches by publication date, availability of the article's full-text, or even by the type of editing process a source undergoes (e.g. peer-review). 

TIMESAVER

  • You can use library databases to find credible information for reports and projects, and you won’t have to waste time sifting through the irrelevant material that is retrieved in a typical Google search, such as personal blogs, discussion threads, and commercial websites trying to sell a product or service.
  • Once you know how to effectively search library databases, you'll be able to find materials that are relevant and appropriate for your research needs in far less time than it would take using a search engine, like Google. (Also, a large percentage of the information available in library databases cannot be found, or accessed freely, using Google.)